010616-fp-top-foldCrowded Field of Candidates Seek Public Office

Milwaukee – Four citywide offices and 15 aldermanic seats are up for grabs in this spring’s elections, and all but two incumbents, including the city attorney and one alderman, are running uncontested.

More than 50 people have submitted their nominations papers with the Milwaukee Election Commission to be placed on the ballot.

Mayor Tom Barrett is seeking to return as mayor however he faces challenges from two City Hall veterans, Aldermen Joe Davis and Bob Donovan, and one outsider, James Methu.

Those who submitted the required documents and nominating signatures will make it onto the ballot if enough of their signatures are found to be valid.

In races where there are more than two people running, voters will choose on Feb. 16 who will move on and appear on the April 5 spring election ballot.

The candidates include:

Mayor: Barrett is seeking his fourth term. Aldermen Bob Donovan, Joe Davis and James Methu.

City attorney: The longtime incumbent, Grant Langley, is running unopposed.

City comptroller: Incumbent Martin Matson was first elected to the position in April 2012. He faces a challenge from former county Supervisor Johnny Thomas.

City treasurer: Incumbent Spencer Coggs, who was first elected in 2012, faces a challenge from Rick Kissell.

Council races include:

District 1: Ald. Ashanti Hamilton faces a challenge from Vincent Toney.

District 2: Alderman Joe Davis is not seeking re-election. The six people who have filed to run include social worker Jackie Clark-Ivy, community activist Tracey Dent, Chevy Johnson, longtime Davis aide Sherman Morton, Keith Bailey and special education teacher Larresa Taylor.

District 3: Ald. Nik Kovac, who was first elected in April 2008, is facing challenges from Shannan Hayden and Ira Robins.

District 4: Ald. Bob Bauman, who was first elected in April 2004, faces challenges from Monique Kelly and Andrew Shaw.

District 5: Ald. Jim Bohl is running unopposed.

District 6:  Ald. Milele Coggs, who was first elected in 2008, faces three challengers: Ronny Thompson, Majungaray Watts and Tory Lowe.

District 7:   Ald. Willie Wade is not seeking re-election. Milwaukee School Board President Michael Bonds; County Supervisor Khalif Rainey; Randy Jones, David Crowley, Temeka Williams and Vivian Redd-Fehr filled to run.

District 8: Ald. Donovan is seeking re-election at the same time he’s running for mayor. Donovan, who was first elected to the Common Council in 2000, faces challenges in the race to represent the south side district from state Rep. Josh Zepnick and Justin Bielinski.

District 9: Ald. Robert Puente, who was first elected in 2004, faces seven challengers: Frank S. Emanuele Jr.; David D. King, founder of the Milwaukee God Squad; Jacquelyn D. Heath; Chantia Lewis; John C. Wallace Sr.; Lamar “Penny” Sikora; and County Board Supervisor Martin Weddle.

District 10: Common Council President Michael Murphy faces a challenge from Richard Geldon. Murphy was first elected in a special election in 1989.

District 11: Ald. Mark Borkowski, who was first elected in August, is seeking re-election. He replaced Ald. Joe Dudzik, who was killed in May after crashing his motorcycle. Borkowski faces a challenge from Tim Kenney.

District 12: Ald. José Pérez, faces a challenge from Angel Sanchez, a former alderman.

District 13: Ald. Terry L. Witkowski, first elected to the council in a special election in July 2003, faces a challenge from Christopher Wiken.

District 14: Ald. Tony Zielinski, first elected to the Common Council in April 2004, faces a challenge from Meagan Holman.

District 15: Ald. Russell W. Stamper II, who won a special election in 2014, faces a challenge from Sean Muhammad.