State Track and Field Meet this Weekend

Screen Shot 2013-06-01 at 11.37.05 AMBy Steed

The time is here. All the best athletes in the state will have an opportunity to show their championship form at the Wisconsin track and field meet in La Crosse.

New comers like Milwaukee Washington’s Deon Polk, recording the 4thfastest time in Division 1 sectionals in the 100 meters 10.86 seconds will be there. Jester Weah ranked number one in the state in the 100 meters 10.59 seconds from Madison Memorial, who already signed a football scholarship to University of Pittsburgh, will also be there, he hasn’t run track since his sophomore year however.

From the boys side of the Track there’s no race more competitive than the 200 and 800 meters this year. In the 200 meters there are about 10 guys who can win this event on any given Saturday. Grafton’s Erik Huertas who has the best state qualifying time in the 400 meters is favored, he also has the third fastest time in the 200 meters 21.69. Jay Schneider of Homestead has been really running strong the last few meets, he has recorded under 22 seconds. Jeters Weah of Madison Memorial with the best time in the 100 meters is looking forward to the challenge of the 200 meters. But nobody is more deserving than Xavier Jensen of Muskego to win the 200 meters who has a University of Wisconsin offer on the table with the best qualifying time of 21.53. Other noticeables: Jake Wallenfang of Green Bay Preble, Ryan Kind of Janesville Craig, Byron Neal of Tomah and John-Myles Gaskell of Fond du Lac.

The 800 features the defending Champ Brad Johnson of Brookfield East who has the best qualifying time 1:54.69 and Carl Hirsch of Brookfield Central and team mate Andrew Dusing, all three are coming from Waukesha North sectionals. Senior Carl Hirsch of Brookfield Central won two of the individual events helping to return their championships. He won both the 1,600- and 3,200-meter runs in 2012. In his quest to repeat, he has the top qualifying time in both events at 4:14.13 and 9:21.32, respectively.

From the girls side West Bend West is entered in the most events with 18, including relays. Milwaukee King is next with 11. Arrowhead and Franklin are next in line with participants in 10 events, and Sun Prairie is next with nine. Three individual events and four relay teams feature the return of their defending champion.

Senior Alex Flucke of Ashwaubenon is the two-time champion and record holder in the pole vault. She should challenge for the title again this season, entering the meet with the second-best sectional vault at 11-6. Another defending champion in position to capture another title is senior Corinne Franz of Madison Memorial in the discus. She enters competition with a qualifying toss over 10 feet farther than any of the other qualifiers. Junior Kanesha Freiberg of Madison La Follette won the long jump a year ago, and has returned to the field with a qualifying leap of 17-9, which ranks eighth among all competitors in the event this year. Senior Allison Parker of Neenah is attempting to regain the title she won in the 800 run in 2011. She has the fifth fastest qualifying time this season. The relays attempting to repeat include Milwaukee King in the 400, La Crosse Logan in the 800, Milwaukee Riverside in the 1,600 and Neenah in the 3,200.

No comments
Leave a comment